How long til blue belt with only no gi experience

Johnsonville

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I recently started training again and have two years training under my belt but only in no gi with no belt system. The new gym I'm at is gi only and I'm a white belt, I'm just curious what is the standard for promoting someone in this situation. A more extreme example would be a guy with say 8 years experience in a no belt system would they just give him a purple or brown when he came in? I'm not in any rush myself I'm just curious

~DaViD~

So you have two years training under your belt....but with no belt...gotchaa

You wear the last belt you earned. So in your case a white belt. Your progress will be evaluated the same as everyone else.

3 years, 1 month, 17 days, 5 hours, 10 minutes and 12 seconds.

You wear the last belt you earned. So in your case a white belt. Your progress will be evaluated the same as everyone else.
This.

You'll be white belt until your teacher says your not. Really no other way this question can be answered. Every school is different and there's tons of variables (time off/breaks, does the teacher require competition, affiliation which sometimes have minimum timelines, is there a belt test, length of each class, size of the school....ect)

Probably till they got from you the same kind of money they got from other blue belts.

you got a long way then sorry but doing no gi doesnt give u faster rank u gotta learn the whole system from scratch

Had some mma guys who didn't train in the gi and sucked a bjj get belts at my previous school.