Does age effect women fighters the same as men?

andy18_1

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
This might be a stupid question but as far as I know the decline is due to testostrone levels dropping, I'm no scientist or anything but I don't think female hormones work the same way. Will women be able to fight successfully for longer than men or am I just a moron?

Judging by how many women look like men by the time they hit 40 I would say they have a major increase in testosterone production. If testosterone is the main factor in athletic performance then it would make sense that women become better athletes with age.

Nah. Women tend to age worse. Their athetic prime isn't as long.

According to an infographic over at the Washington Post [LINK], female Olympic 2012 athletes ranged older in 14 (6) events vs 14 (7) for men (numbers in parenthesis show a how many of those were large differences). In fact, the men had a higher age range than women in Boxing, Fencing, TKD, and Wrestling.

Of course there could be other restrictions to participation such as work/family that would have non-equal impact between the genders, but without actually doing any more in-depth research, I would say that no: female athletes do not have a longevity advantage over men.

TS is absolutely right. Soon we will be seeing WMMA fighters well into their 80's.

This might be a stupid question but as far as I know the decline is due to testostrone levels dropping, I'm no scientist or anything but I don't think female hormones work the same way. Will women be able to fight successfully for longer than men or am I just a moron?

This is a great and very interesting question, too hard to give you an easy answer though. It would need some statistical research to find out the answer.

But obviously it cant be the exact same, there has to be some difference between two different genders.

What's a normal rate of test for women to have? Do they get tested the same as men?