• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) We may experience a temporary downtime. Thanks for the patience.

Defending yourself with a knife

Imac27

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I want to preface this with a couple of clarifications. I have a degree in criminal justice and I understand the ramifications of using a knife and in which situations I am justified in doing so. I am also a calm person who avoids areas I shouldn't be in and my first move is always to defuse a situation.

I live in a rough city with a large dangerous element. A friend of mine was jumped by a group of 3 gang members walking to school in the morning and they attacked him with objects around him (cinder block and metal bucket). Ive been aggressively approached by groups of people my self. This is what got me thinking.

I carry a knife as a tool but if I were attacked by surprise or surrounded by 2+ people and I was able to draw my knife what should my method of attack be? Upward or downward thrusts, slashes, aiming for the face/arms/arteries? Should I concentrate on one target at a time or quickly attack several targets?

I feel like I should go with a strong typical grip and stabbing, and target the most available target first.

Any input is appreciated.

(also don't say run, I'm slow. And I don't have the money for a pistol and ccw right now)

I appreciate the comments, but alot of you seem to be focusing on knife on knife fights. If I'm up against a knife with any chance of running, Im running. What I was asking about is a a group attack without weapons, as they seem to be fairly common and harder to avoid than a one on one knife fight.

Last edited:
Be first.