your favorite techniques from clinch

4degrees

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I've been doing Jiu-jitsu for a couple years now, but with very little emphasis on the clinch game and takedowns. I'm curious what you guys think are some of the more basic and effective takedowns from the clinch.

For BJJ I'd say any sutemi waza.
You pretty much grab someone and take him down with ya.

Ouchi Gari > Osoto Gari is my favorite. Assuming an orthodox grappling stance attack their left leg with your right leg using Ouchi Gari to make them withdraw it and expose their right leg, you then use your right leg to reap it with Osoto Gari at an angle. I'm a bit mean with my balance-breaking and usually push my right hand with the collar grip into their throat and up under the jaw when I change to the Osoto Gari while pulling down and putting some rotation into the balance-breaking with the sleeve grip.

Last edited:
duckunders are fantastic as soon as you work for an underhook which i use with an inverted wrist grip, if i can't go all the way behind then i take an inside single

greco clinch => inside/outside trip

:cool:

This all day long.

I also like old school head and arm, and if I ever got luck enough to get a duckunder then were going full bore suplex.

I use hit the duckunder to suplex in hihgschool wrstling all the time and the head in arm is good for the bigger guys utilizes youre size and hip strength.!

Nice forumn TS!

Uchi mata.

And another takedown which I don't know the name of. Overhook their left arm, control the right wrist, with your head in the pocket. Keeping your right arm pinched tight, you sit down and straighten your leg blocking his foot/feet. As seen in this clip of Nate learning it from Manny from about the 1:00-1:30 portion I don't use Manny's way just because they have that free hand to post with and normally I'm not as strong as my opponent so I'd like as many advantages as possible. And yes, I learned this clinch move from this video as well.