Wrestling shoes or martial arts shoes?

penguinsfan

White Belt
Reaction score
Again, I'm brand new to martial arts. I noticed that all the instructors where I'm at wear shoes. The place allows either barefeet (current choice), socks, or wrestling shoes. I picked up a pair of wrestling shoes after I signed up. I figured they might add a little support and reduce the chances of injury.

However, I was telling one guy about them and he recommended I buy actual martial arts or karate shoes. He said they're a little bit smoother right on the ball of the foot, thus allowing for more of a pivot, and he said wrestling shoes are all about grip and may make kicks more difficult.

I have a couple days to return the wrestling shoes where I bought them if that is the thing to do.

MMA largely striking oriented. I've done far more Muay Thai strikes than anything, to this point.

if you are gonna do mma type training then i suggest getting a good pair of wrestling shoes by far. if you are doing muay thai right now, there really is no use for shoes. just get a pair of ankle supports.

wrestling shoes can obviously be used for grappling and are widely substituted for boxing shoes in boxing gyms, not to mention they also look 100 times better than TMA martial arts shoes. just my opinion of course.

if you are gonna do mma type training then i suggest getting a good pair of wrestling shoes by far. if you are doing muay thai right now, there really is no use for shoes. just get a pair of ankle supports.

wrestling shoes can obviously be used for grappling and are widely substituted for boxing shoes in boxing gyms, not to mention also they look 100 times better than TMA martial arts shoes. just my opinion of course.

Could not have said it better.