Windows 7 question

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by Lead, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. Lead

    Lead /Led/ Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35,164
    Likes Received:
    23,262
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
    I put hooked my computer up to a widescreen tv with a VGA cable but for some reason it has the display slightly to the left, cutting off the start bar and some icons.

    I would be grateful if anyone knew how to move the screen to the right. I looked around for the option and googled it but can't find anything.
     
  2. Chaos Spawn

    Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    running with scissors
  3. Lead

    Lead /Led/ Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35,164
    Likes Received:
    23,262
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  4. Chaos Spawn

    Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    running with scissors
    i would start with the settings on your tv. i bet that is the source of your problem.

    also, that is amazing that you
     
  5. Lead

    Lead /Led/ Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35,164
    Likes Received:
    23,262
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
    The shows play with the full screen used but with the laptop hookup, its leaving the right side blank partially.

    The annoying this is I found how to rotate the screen and how to adjust the size both horizontally and vertically yet there is still no option to move it left or right. I remember older computers having an easy way to do that.
     
  6. Lead

    Lead /Led/ Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35,164
    Likes Received:
    23,262
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  7. Chaos Spawn

    Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    running with scissors
    just like everything else with computers, i bet it will turn out to be an easy fix and you will end up scratching your head wondering why you didn
     
  8. Lead

    Lead /Led/ Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35,164
    Likes Received:
    23,262
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  9. sideboob

    sideboob ====( )( )====

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    738
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Have you taken a look at your display settings on the computer to see about a separate setting for the TV? I assume you have it set to mirror? (so the display on tv matches what you see on laptop). Click on the display marked 2 under your settings (assuming your computer is still your primary 'monitor') and see if it gives you resolution options (Control Panel\Appearance and Personalization\Display\Screen Resolution)
     
  10. milliniar

    milliniar Who needs a belt?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23,389
    Likes Received:
    12,713
    Location:
    Wade Wilson's Hometown
    you might have to lower the res from the PC or change settings on the TV. on my moms tv have to change tv to PC input or something. on my tv i actually have to select slightly lower res to get full screen...
     
  11. helax

    helax Memorial Cup looms Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11,092
    Likes Received:
    7,737
    try right clicking on your desktop, open personalize, open display, change display settings, change until you get what you want
    edit: what sideboob said
     
  12. Jack Reacheround

    Jack Reacheround Never Go Black

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    29,183
    Likes Received:
    21,207
    Location:
    In your blind spot
    First thing is mess with your resolution settings. Also, try changing the aspect ratio on the TV for that input. If none of that works, find out what kind of video card you have. Download the full software suite for that card and install it. Often times, just having the driver limits the card's options, but the full software will make more of them available.
     
  13. 22k

    22k ベルセルク

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    27,378
    Likes Received:
    34,444
    Location:
    New York
    auto adjustment on your TV.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.