Windows 7 question

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by Lead, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. Lead /Led/ like the panda Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    38,576
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
    I put hooked my computer up to a widescreen tv with a VGA cable but for some reason it has the display slightly to the left, cutting off the start bar and some icons.

    I would be grateful if anyone knew how to move the screen to the right. I looked around for the option and googled it but can't find anything.
     
  2. Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    running with scissors
  3. Lead /Led/ like the panda Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    38,576
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  4. Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    running with scissors
    i would start with the settings on your tv. i bet that is the source of your problem.

    also, that is amazing that you
     
  5. Lead /Led/ like the panda Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    38,576
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
    The shows play with the full screen used but with the laptop hookup, its leaving the right side blank partially.

    The annoying this is I found how to rotate the screen and how to adjust the size both horizontally and vertically yet there is still no option to move it left or right. I remember older computers having an easy way to do that.
     
  6. Lead /Led/ like the panda Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    38,576
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  7. Chaos Spawn Kuiper belt

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    running with scissors
    just like everything else with computers, i bet it will turn out to be an easy fix and you will end up scratching your head wondering why you didn
     
  8. Lead /Led/ like the panda Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    38,576
    Likes Received:
    1,780
    Location:
    Around Pittsburgh
     
  9. sideboob Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Have you taken a look at your display settings on the computer to see about a separate setting for the TV? I assume you have it set to mirror? (so the display on tv matches what you see on laptop). Click on the display marked 2 under your settings (assuming your computer is still your primary 'monitor') and see if it gives you resolution options (Control Panel\Appearance and Personalization\Display\Screen Resolution)
     
  10. milliniar Who needs a belt?

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24,725
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Wade Wilson's Hometown
    you might have to lower the res from the PC or change settings on the TV. on my moms tv have to change tv to PC input or something. on my tv i actually have to select slightly lower res to get full screen...
     
  11. helax Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12,727
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    try right clicking on your desktop, open personalize, open display, change display settings, change until you get what you want
    edit: what sideboob said
     
  12. Jack Reacheround Never Go Black

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes Received:
    909
    Location:
    In your blind spot
    First thing is mess with your resolution settings. Also, try changing the aspect ratio on the TV for that input. If none of that works, find out what kind of video card you have. Download the full software suite for that card and install it. Often times, just having the driver limits the card's options, but the full software will make more of them available.
     
  13. weed ベルセルク

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    36,158
    Likes Received:
    9,024
    Location:
    ʞɹo⅄ ʍǝN
    auto adjustment on your TV.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.