Wide Stance; Good idea or not (Boxing)?

BrokenNose

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hello!

I've recently been told by one of the trainers at my gym that a wide stance isn't a good thing to have. Less range, and less balance especially getting hit with hooks and whatnot.

Is this true advice? I'm new at this, so I can't tell at all.

Thanks in advance.

-Don

My boxing trainer always used to yell at me for this. My problem was not shuffling/keeping my feet under me. When your stance is wide, its more difficult to keep your balance when moving/under pressure. If your feet are always under you, you can move aside, advance, throw etc.. without compromising your balance.

Thats at least how I thought it. My trainer still yells at me for being to square (coming from a TMA/Muay Thai background its hard).

Hello!

I've recently been told by one of the trainers at my gym that a wide stance isn't a good thing to have. Less range, and less balance especially getting hit with hooks and whatnot.

Is this true advice? I'm new at this, so I can't tell at all.

Thanks in advance.

-Don

If you're new, listen to your damn trainer...lol

But seriously, if you are new at whatever sport, its always good to listen and not question the trainer's mindset/ideas, it may not be always right but until you start figuring out stuff on your own, don't be obstinate.

If you're new, listen to your damn trainer...lol

But seriously, if you are new at whatever sport, its always good to listen and not question the trainer's mindset/ideas, it may not be always right but until you start figuring out stuff on your own, don't be obstinate.

qft.

when i had bum knees, all i could do was box from a wide stance, flat footed. going up on the balls of my feet would put pressure on my knees, so all i could do was stand wide and keep my feet planted. and to be honest, i fought alright from that stance.