Why Won't They Get Better!

Jimmy Cerra

Amateur Fighter
@Black
Reaction score
I've been grappling for 9 months at this one place, and while I can see me and some of my friends getting better and better, others stagnate. They are in much better shape, but they don't get stronger or faster at all. Even worse, their technique is still just as bad. I really want them to get better, but it never happens! Are some people just not designed for grappling?

some people just take longer.. they are not as into it.. they just dont have a knack for it.
pick your reason.

Some people are naturally better at certain things than others. Fact of life.

Depends on why they are doing it. I train just for fun and exercise. I'm not one of those guys that thinks thay'll being going pro some day. I'm sure that some day I'll peak simply because the other demands of life are going to restrict how much time , energy, and atttention I can give to training. its just lke any other sport. Not everyone is going to a champion.

You have to remember that grappling skill grows logarithmically. This is actually true in every martial art as well.

Think about what you were like when you were a complete beginner. Someone with 1 year of experience could basically submit you with whatever they wanted in about 30 seconds. You were completely dominated and had no idea what was happening. The only thing you realized was that you were being choked and locked in extremely painful ways.

Now that you have 1 year of experience, who can make you feel this way again? Usually only people with 10+ years of experience. Only they have enough skill to completely dominate you with whatever they want at will in a way that is beyond your comprehension.