Why do you rotate palm when throwing an uppercut?

jimmy_the_eel

White Belt
Reaction score
OK guys, long time listener 1st time caller blah blah

Hopefully this will sound like a stupid question to someone and I will get a simple answer =)

When throwing a tight uppercut, we'll take the left as an example, I have always been taught to lower the left shoulder and bend the left leg, then rotate the hips and throw the fist upwards, turning the palm towards you as it goes.

Had a quick google and this seems to be the standard tech for throwing this punch.

My question is, why rotate the wrist? If you don't the punch looks more likely to slip up between your opponent's arms and land. Also, if I hold my arm at 90 degrees, with the thumb towards my body, there is no tension in my forearm, but with my palm facing me i feel the muscles tighten, which would surely be detrimental to the speed/power of the punch?

So does anyone know why you turn the palm to face your body? Anyone ever seen an uppercut thrown without rotating the wrist?

Cheers

I experimented a little bit on this actually after reading Hajime no Ippo. Personally, I found that rotating your fist towards you generates more power and makes it more likely to hit with your first two knuckes.

When I throw the uppercut without the rotation, I can sometimes slip it between the guard of my opponent better, but I can't throw it with as much power. If I really try put power into it, it hurts my last two knuckles. the more experienced guys I spar with run through those kind of weak punches; they eat them and keep coming.

Another thing is that my trainer teaches us to throw the uppercut so that the fist goes in an arch back towards you, not in a straight line up. If I don't rotate it, the punch goes more in a straight line up.

I think I may be able to answer my own question after a bit of reading=)