When did you guys start

ImTechn9que

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I'm 17 and i've been boxing for about a year now on and off (b/c of injuries in football, etc), i like boxing and i'm naturally good at it so i picked it up fast, i have torn ligaments in my elbow right now though so i can't really do anything for a while, but once i get that fixed (probably 4-6 weeks unless it's going to require surgery) i really want to start doing jiu jitsu. i have no experience at all with it or any form of wrestling and i'm wondering what it will be like when i first go and if anyone else has started as late as i am going to

17 is not late at all. I started when I was 19

17? I started when I was 32. You would be the 2nd youngest person in my class. 90% of the guys are in their 20's.

You can expect to get positionally dominated for 4-6 months, even if you're large and athletic. Grapplers are rarely "naturals". Success comes from attendence and hard work. Most classes start with a little warmup or cardio. Then you'll do specific techniques, then you'll roll. (rolling is what the live sparring is called). If your elbow isn't 100% be sure to tell whoever you're rolling with so they leave it alone.

expect to be sore. Some will tell you to lift and some will tell you to jog .. just expect to get very tired and sore your first couple of months.

what I would do is follow very close instructions from your physical therapist on rehabing you elbow and do a shit load of Ab work.

All BJJ is about core strength.

You'll be fine. Just attend class as much as you can, and try to learn as much as possible. I think the hardest thing to pick up is not the movements themselves, but the reasoning behind all of the movements.

The little things, like grip, posture, creating space, hip movement, and proper positioning are the important things, and the most difficult to get down. Realizing when you need to do each of these, and why, and in what position is difficult. This comes in time (I assume).