When did you find your "game"?

spirez

Purple Belt
Reaction score
How long has it taken you to find yourself a specific game that you rely on the majority of the time? I've been grappling around 18 months now, 9 at a top club and feel i'm just beginning to fall into a specific series of techniques that i always look for.

The problem is i dont see it so much as a game but more of a rut that i'm stuck in as i realise i'm still new to grappling but only seem to be looking for this one sequence. I'm getting better at the moment though and am definitely working my top game but at such a low level i feel i'm neglecting my guard too much.

I'm debating if i should ditch the top game that i'm using at the moment and just work more from guard until i begin to nail it.

If it makes any difference, i'm trying to gear my style more towards MMA than BJJ comps.

I found out pretty quickly (within a year) on what I was good at and what my body could do. I took a few techniques from each position I liked, and continued to build off those techniques with variations and other moves, and the more I learned the more I was able to add on. Just think of bjj like sculpting. You sculpt a half guard, then you see you need to add on a hook game to your half guard so you do that, then you see you need to add the other leg as an x guard, then you see that and then you see their leg is ripe for the taking and add on a single leg, etc...

Your instructor should be instrumental in helping you find your game. I know mine was. :)

Ehmm, through comps I found what techniques I could rely on the most when the chips were down and I needed to pull it out of the bag. Then in training I found those same ones werethe ones I could get the better guys with, and through that I just practiced them more and more and more to perfect them. It doesnt mean you are a narrow player, you use what works for you.

Time wise, couple of years Id say.

About a few years after quitting. Honest.