What do I have to be careful of when buying mutual funds?

Big Al's Texas BBQ

Sorry, no tortilla!
@Black
Reaction score
I'm a total noob at investing, but I want to be able to retire with some good money saved up. From what I've researched, mutual funds seems to be the best way to build up good money. How risky are mutual funds? What should I be looking for when deciding on what to buy?

Make sure you didn't buy mutual buns by accident.

I feel you should search out a different opinion on mutual funds instead of Sherdog.

do some research on the company, find out their fee structure, costs for re-distribution of funds or adjusting your account. Check the background and reviews of your agent see if they are reputable. Also if you find someone that tells you they ALWAYS making steady gains, that's a red flag. That was one of the biggest warning signs people ignored from the Maddolf fiasco.

Also if you work for someone that has a 401K take advantage of that, normally the company you work for will offer a match up to a certain percentage and the contributions are pre-taxed dollars which helps on your year end taxes. Also if you do it after you've established one account consider opening a second (eggs in one basket and all that).

I'm a total noob at investing, but I want to be able to retire with some good money saved up. From what I've researched, mutual funds seems to be the best way to build up good money. How risky are mutual funds? What should I be looking for when deciding on what to buy?
Call the Dave Ramsey Show

1-888-825-5225. 12pm-3pm PT

Diversify, spread over 4 types. Growth, Growth and income, Aggressive Growth and International.

Ask him questions

Last edited:
Call the Dave Ramsey Show

1-888-825-5225. 12pm-3pm PT

Diversify, spread over 4 types. Growth, Growth and income, Aggressive Growth and International.

Ask him questions
I find him good at helping people get out of debt, but find his investing advice a bit dubious.