What did you develop first, top game or bottom game?

BOrakpo98

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training for 8 months now. So far I've focused exclusively on survival and developing an offensive closed guard. I guess it makes sense as a white belt for me to build my ground game first because I find myself on the bottom a lot but I'm almost getting to the point where I want to develop a top game.

Would it be a bad idea to put my guard development on hold and switch to developing a top game?

I don't want to get to the point where I can do lots of stuff but at a mediocre level. I'd like to be proficient in something before branching out too far, but my lack of having a top game is kind of bothering me.

So I was curious what did you guys develop first? A top game or a bottom game? And maybe when did you finally decide to focus on the opposite of what you started?

still a white belt but having a wrestling background has led me to learn top game more then bottom. I usually am the one to shoot or snap down into a front headlock so since i ending up on top usually i just worked what was given to me. now though i am trying to force myself to go bottom at least half the time we roll.

dont stress about it. At this point you'll have plenty of time to develop your top game. When your bottom game starts to become threatening you'll include a lot of sweeps and reversals in your game which will lead to you playing top.

Just keep going to practice :D

In bjj I always ended up on the bottom (and still do during midget wrestling). So for the most part I worked on transitioning from side control or half guard to closed guard. now i'm doing sweeps from closed guard during rolling.

in judo, i end up on top most of the time. I usually work on positional control.

I train both simultaneously (and started both around the same time) so I usually get to alternate top/bottom focus at least once or twice during the week.