Weight Class 101

hello_world

White Belt
Reaction score
I am 3.5 months in to MMA training. Found a great gym, good fighters.
I'm still a rookie and do not know abou many things, so I am here learning.

I've been training pretty hard, and some of the coaches and other guys have asking me if
i'm thinking about competing at some point. I'm really just trying to build skills and have
fun at this point.

But it got me thinking about weight classes. I'm 6' 4" about 210 (give or take a couple) and athletic
build. Low body fat, not freaky low, just pretty lean. I maintain a good diet and have for years, but
i don't really count calories or get scientific about it. I just eat healthy, natural, organic type foods
and stay away from crap, because crap makes me feel and perform like crap.

Anyways, the biggest i've been is 220-225 range pretty solid but not bodybuilder.
The only times i've been below 200 since high school has been once after food poisoning, and once after pneumonia.

I could make heavyweight, but would be severley disadvantaged. I even think I might be too small for 205 class, but
I am ignorant about making weight. So the next step down is 185 right? 6' 4" @ 185 is just a little bigger
than Anderson Silva (6' 2" @185 right?). So taller guys can do it I guess.

No, I am not suggesting I would fight like Silva. I am actually wondering
if I would be at risk of again being at a disadvantage from dropping that low.

Short story long.
Seems like I never hear of anyone fighting at their natural weight (about 205 for me). I feel like I could build more
mass and cut back to 205, or possibly drop to 185.

I think i'm going to try and cut down (healthily) to 195 as an experiment and see how I feel.
Has anyone else gone through the same type of decision making?
I would appreciate some discussion or advice on the subject from people that have gone through it.

Thanks.