Training with a Grappling Dummy?

YourNewStepDad

White Belt
Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience using a grappling dummy (something like the BubbaDummy, for example) as a part of their training?

My situation is that i am a busy law student, as well as a judo and BJJ player, and have recently found it impossible to make it to formal classes in order to roll with live opponents.

Can anyone who has used grappling dummies in their training give me some indication of the general usefulness of such training in the abscence of live partners. Obviously, rolling with living human beings is preferable, but i just can't make it work in my schedule and am looking for a way to work techniques on my own. The dummies i have seen on the internet are tremendously expensive (relative to my meager income) and would like to hear some pro/con testimony before making the investment.

thank you in advance for any useful advice

I have a Grappling Man dummy from I&I Sports. It is very helpul for practicing or learning new things and then putting them into play with a real opponent. In particular, when I learn stuff from an instructional vid I'll work with the dummy first and then with a real person. In some cases it's particularly useful with techniques that can easily be harmful to a real person if you are not careful - e.g., leg locks and certain neck cranks. A dummy is also great for ground and pound because you can just wail away. It's not a perfect solution (the dummy does not fight back or resist), but then again, neither is a real opponent because you have to restrain yourself with some techniques when practicing. Now that I reflect on what I just wrote... I guess it would be better to have a dummy for MMA/vale tudo type practice than for a more sportive BJJ or Judo approach.