Tips/questions (first tourney)

bumma

White Belt
Reaction score
I have about 5 years wrestling experience and go to my school's jiu jitsu club fairly regularly. This weekend I'll be going to a Dragon's Lair tournament (my first). For a while I thought my experience on the mat and take down ability would give me a nice edge over the competition since I'll be competiting in the beginner bracket (6 months to a year experience in jiu jitsu). But now I realize that I can't be the only wrestler that has turned to jiu jitsu. So just out of curiousity, how many of you are or know wrestlers that have turned to jiu jitsu? Also, any advice would be great. Thanks.

Don't sandbag! 5 years wrestling is insane, you will destroy anyone 6 months to a year. I think you should step up a few division to challege yourself, don't be an asshole and win without trying.

Well I know one former wrestler that comes currently to my school and thats about it I think. I'm sure you'll do great at the tournament, not many beginner BJJers will probably have as much wrestling experience as you.

I dont think your sandbagging it. I think it depends on your knowledge of submission. I am a fornmer wrestler who trains in JJ now. I was always getting tapped and always giving up my back. So wheh I get wrestlers that come in our school, i really tell them it is a different game. You may be able to take them down. But what is your passing the guard like? What is your submission defense and offense look like? This all has to be taken into consideration. Start off at the bottom and then work your way up the ltter to the higher divisions.

Weonlywonsixtwo said:
Don't sandbag! 5 years wrestling is insane, you will destroy anyone 6 months to a year. I think you should step up a few division to challege yourself, don't be an asshole and win without trying.