tips on leg riding (hs wrestling)

Soul_of_Rage

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
hey after a hard and long season of mastering the basics im just starting to learn how to ride legs (i made it to regionals and ended up getting legs on this kid and not knowing what to do =P) im gonna be a sophomore and im pretty much built for leg riding, im 5'11 135 pounds.

just wondering if any1 had tips or advice on riding legs

learn how to ride your opponent without getting bucked off or losing position, don't get to high on him and learn to really leverage into power halfs, learn how to break him down... that should get you started.

Here is the key, no lazy leg rides.. and break him down first.. THEN put the legs in. A leg ride is not meant to be a lazy move.

there are alot of different ways to ride legs. some guys use alot of pressure like hayliks described. some guys just hangh on and roll with their opponent.

when your opponent is flat on on his belly, his legs should be sticking up in the air. when you have that, you have the right pressure.

master the power half, its the single best move in top wrestling for HS.

dont get too high.

dont thread the ankle... keep your feet in his crotch and arch your back.

learn tilts. a long guys with leg riding skills is tough if he has the tilt game to match. you can become a techfall guru.

learn how to get a leg in from a few positions.

most good leg riders, that was my game in hs too, do nothing but play legs from top. its not really a part time thing. its either your go to position, or dont mess with it, it will get you in trouble. so in practice, throw ina leg ever single time until you can take a nap on top and not get thrown off or too high

Yeah, the worst are lazy leg riders, but good ones can wreck havoc with tilts and power halfs.