tips/advice: going to thailand

bumma

White Belt
Reaction score
So I finally booked a flight to phuket, made reservations at a hotel, and contacted a muay thai camp. I've been training pretty hard to get ready as I'm going at the end of the month and I'm in decent shape. I guess wrestling, bjj, lifting, and running on top of muay thai will do that to you. Anyways for those that you have been to thailand, I was looking for any tips or advice on anything. Training, food, useful phrases, what to watch out for, etc. It's not my first time overseas as I've traveled across the world, but it is my first time in thailand. Oh also I have a more specific question. Is it better to buy gear there or just order from fairtext or something (i.e gloves, shorts)? Thanks for the help.

bumma said:
So I finally booked a flight to phuket, made reservations at a hotel, and contacted a muay thai camp. I've been training pretty hard to get ready as I'm going at the end of the month and I'm in decent shape. I guess wrestling, bjj, lifting, and running on top of muay thai will do that to you. Anyways for those that you have been to thailand, I was looking for any tips or advice on anything. Training, food, useful phrases, what to watch out for, etc. It's not my first time overseas as I've traveled across the world, but it is my first time in thailand. Oh also I have a more specific question. Is it better to buy gear there or just order from fairtext or something (i.e gloves, shorts)? Thanks for the help.

Sawadeekrup = Hello
Chaai = Yes
Mai Chaai = No
Farang = Foreigner
Pom Rak Koon = I love you (idk why you'd need this)
Sok = Elbow
Teep = Push kick

ahhh I can't think of much else right now. These are off the top of my head.

Wash your shorts every day. And/or bring several pair of Thai shorts. They shower frequently; before each meal if they can.

Don't eat too fast or too much.

Do NOT touch anyone on the head (unless it's a punch), not even children. The head is sacred in Buddhism.