The best thing about grappling....

Higher Learning

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing jiujitsu for a few years now and day in day out I think there are a lot of things I love about the sport but i have really come to realise over the last 6 months that the part I love the most is also the part that helps me learn and progress more than anything else.

I think there are several really important ways to learn and improve in grappling… Listening to your coach and teammates, drilling (always drilling!), rolling with higher belts & lower belts and competing are all really vital tools & are often fun as well.

But the one thing I think drives me the most and also makes me enjoy the sport more than anything else is those gym wars… you know they guys you train with that are so close to your level technically & physically and have trained with you every fkn class for years. They know your game inside out, know all your tricks and favourite positions & you know theirs.

There are a few guys I train with where we will literally roll intensely for 20-30min at a time with no one getting real dominance and constant position changes, passes, escapes, sweeps and nears subs. It makes you bring everything more than any timed, scored comp match ever can… especially when you are very competitive and know each other well enough as training partners to go 100% and stay safe, these are the times when you leave it all on the mat….

Anyone agree with me on this being the best part about grappling?

I know what you mean.

I don't really feel that I know a technique until I can pull it off on certain guys in my gym (which sadly means that I "know" very little, by my own definition).