Stocking my home dojo - need advice about the B.O.B. XL

ShindoNinja

Faixa Preta
@Green
Reaction score
So my basement reno is coming to a close and now I get to stock my home dojo. Wifee has said she does not want my old Century Tidal Wave Heavy bag hung from the rafters (It shook stuff on the upper floor during workouts), and I don't have a ton of room so I don't want to do a free standing mount with that bag but I may go that direction.

The other options are the Century BOB or the BOB XL... or maybe even the Wave Master XL or some other free standing bag. My question is, can any of these take full force kicks?

Buy a Bowflex....a gym isn't complete without one.

Never used Bob, but I have a Wave Master as well as several ceiling-mounted heavy bags. I filled my WM with sand, fuck water. I can easily vacuum up sand if something happens... water all over my floor... no thanks. As far as taking kicks yes, it can easily take full-force kicks. Only thing that blows is you can't practice low kicks on it. Not too big an issue for me since one of the bags I have is a 6 foot tall banana bag, but if you're limited to 1 bag then low kicks are out on the WM.

One of the things people complain about is that the WM does move around when you're kicking and striking it hard. Yes, it does move a bit, but to me that's a good thing. It's not like it goes sliding across the whole floor. My gym floor is made up of interlocked foam mats: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_f9DCK9RKf...iqQK0/s1600/steppaddedantifatiguefloormat.jpg and a corner has Mancino Mats laid down. The floor has a rough texture which prevents the WM from moving too much. On the Mancino Mats, which are smooth, the movement is a bit more dramatic. The bottom line is it forces you to circle around it to keep hitting from different angles to prevent it from sliding too far.

Hope that helps a bit. If I remember when I get home I'll snap some pics of my gym.