Side mount control

stabmasterarson

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am a noob to grappling but did muay thai for a couple years, and now am doing BJJ. One problem I run into is side control. I can't keep it very long against larger opponents (90% of the class), and when I get it I can't really do anything with it. I have no problems getting side control though. Any tips?? I usually try kimuras or side chokes from side mount and I never get em. Also, how do you control the opponents near arm, aside from pushing it up by his head with your hip...when i try this with stronger/larger guys, they get it under me and bench me off.

Sorry about all the questions in one post but I'm stoked to find this forum to help improve my ground game.

From their right side, get your right knee in their hip, left leg out straight at an angle form you. Put one arm under their head, your right arm under their left shoulder, and gable grip, then roll your shoulder into their face. Keep your hips low, and push into them by getting on your toes.

Once you can hold that position, worry less about getting a hold of something, and more about forcing that shoulder down, and your chest on theirs. Make them uncomfortable, and make THEM move, and then take your openings.

If they're bench pressing you, they're asking to be armbarred anyway. Appease them.

Position before submission. You need to learn the control before you try subs.

You have a few options:

BJJ Side Mount: Get a wide base with your knees and keep your butt down. Close the distance between your knees and their side.

Try switching to a Kesa, or scarf hold:

Kesa-gatame.jpg

Similar to that, but you want to keep your head down.

Or you can do the Tony Cecchine style of side mount. Put your chest on thiers, sprawl your legs out and drive your hips as low as possible, while putting all of your weight on their chest,