Researching a school. Can anyone advise on this one...

Morgz

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am a complete beginner looking to start some grappling classes. I am getting into this strictly for the love of the sport, the excersize, and the learning experience (no plans to compete -- just want to learn). Anyway, I am in a suburb of Atlanta, GA. After a bit of research on my own, I have found a school that I want to look into (there are not a ton of choices, by the way -- unless I want to drive over an hour for every class, which I don't). So, this school that I have found is only a 25 - 30 minute drive, but I do not want that to be the only determining factor. I want to make sure it is a legit BJJ school that would teach me correct technique.

The shool I am inquiring about is Creighton MMA in Duluth, GA. Head instructor is called Paul Creighton. The school's website says he is a Renzo Gracie black belt. That part really got me interested. It also appears this guy had a few MMA fights (including one loss to BJ Penn). There is also another instructor there called Jeff Bedard that appears to be a pretty shit hot / respected wrestler. The web address to the school is: http://paulcreighton.com/home.htm

Can any of you more experienced grapplers give me some guidence here? Do any of you know these names or this school in particular?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

bjj.org says he's legit. website looks legit.
Go check it out and do a free class or just pay for a week/month first.
if it's the closest school and there's nothing else close by, your options are limited anyway unless you just want to be a garage grappler with some DVD's and a friend as a training partner
Fighting experience and achievements are great, but find out if their TEACHING STYLE fits you.