Recreational Training

Teach

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I was just looking for some feedback. I have no background in any martial art or combat sport (the reason I am posting I guess). I would like to start training in something--maybe BJJ or maybe something else--but I am not really sure yet.

What I am curious about is if it is common and acceptable to train as hobby. I don't have any interest in competing or fighting in organized bouts. I just like to try new things and have an interest in MMA. Are gyms usually cool about total amateurs? Is it a situation where it depends on the gym? Are there any disciplines that are particularly friendly or unfriendly to people who are training more for fun?

Any thoughts from more experienced people would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I had no idea WTF I was doing when I went in to my gym.

I knew what an arm bar was, I knew what a keylock was, and a triangle, and all the basic submissions.

I didn't understand hip movement or the details of the submissions, or how to look for or create openings..and like i said, mainly my hips...

but people come in knowing even less all the time. You have to start somewhere. So yeah, it's cool to be a total amateur...and people do it just for a hobby all the time. Also, a lot of them come in to train thinking they just want to do it for a hobby, then they end up wanting to compete in every tournament that comes around...

Just try it out and see what happens.

^^^^^^^^

I couldn't have said it better myself!

I took up BJJ 4 months ago simply to try an improve my fitness loose a bit of weight and gain a bit of confidence.

I'm now gearing up for my first tournament this comming saturday, i have another one next week in Croatia and another one about a month away even though i never contemplated competing!

Jiu Jitsu just has a way of becoming part of your life, i only wish i'd got off my arse and started training 10 years ago.