Reccomended Sodium intake for weight loss

BigIsland

White Belt
Reaction score
noob here.

i know sodium is an essential part of your diet, but coming from a family with high blood pressure as well as being 40lbs overweight, i am trying to do what i can to cut sodium (as well as a bunch of other stuff) out.

I was reading that adults should take in < 2400mg per day, but im sure the number would be different considering my circumstances / goals.

so my question is... is cutting that in half a safe number? i try to aim for less than <1200 and my only sodium intake really comes from post workout protein shakes and the occasional diet coke. my diet is good and i cook without salt.

i do occasionally chomp on some sunflower seeds, but am unsure if this is okay. calorie wise a huge 99cent liquor store type bag only has 200 or so calories but its pretty salty. i work late nights at a studio and have picked up the sunflower habit as "something to do" to keep me awake and want to be sure this isnt going to affect my weight loss goals (late night sodium intake/too much sodium intake?)

thoughts and opinions and advice would be appreciated!

personally, i wouldn't worry about the sodium intake and worry more about the weight loss. the weight loss itself will probably lower bp if it was high to begin with

Do a search on here for "the low sodium myth" and then make an informed decision.

I eat as little as possible. but that's just me

i wouldn't make some big issue of it in regards to weight loss. if you want to cut it down though no processed food, and that's the long of the short of it. and buy a nice scale and actually measure what you add to your food.

Basically just stay away from processed foods. Most processed foods are just compltely loaded with salt. Everything from canned soups to potato chips, to bread and pastries, microwave meals, etc. Just a ton of salt in most of that.