Raven Fightwear BJJ Gi

NumptyGolf

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi all

First review, I generally don't get a lot of new gear so this might be the only one I do!

Anyway, I thought I'd give a good review out for the Raven Fightwear BJJ Gi. I've owned mine for about six months now and used it twice a week for most weeks.

http://www.ravenfightwear.com.au/p/8744215/raven-white-pearl-weave-bjj-gi.html

My other Gi experience is with very basic judo Gis, so in comparison, this is a huge step upwards. I cannot compare this Gi to other BJJ Gis as I have no experience with them. As I'm still a white belt, I figured I would stay around the budget level. I also relocate on a regular basis due to work, so my training can sometimes be haphazard depending on where I am. Hence the budget decision.

But having said that, I don't believe there is anything budget about this Gi except for the price.

Pros:
Lightweight
Great Quality
Strong weave
Great fitting (I'm 65 kgs and an A2 fits nice and snug)
Pants are reinforced, have a great drawstring and fit very well too.

Cons:
I personally don't mind this, but it does get a little rough after repeated use (something I'm aware is a problem for certain people). I figure that BJJ is a combat sport, so softness is hardly a big concern, and if it was, some fabric softner would fix this issue.

I've worn this Gi in a couple of comps this year and had no issues with sizing or quality. It has held up really well despite very regular use.

I thoroughly recommend this Gi, and I am due to get a couple more as well so I can retire the basic judo Gi that I've been using in my rotation.