Rather dumb question..

HavenMess

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Ok first I will apologize for this question, I did a search, and read through the stickies and came up with zero :redface:. SO I though I would ask, I have been training BJJ for about 3 months now. My question are there any schools out there that have more of a focus on "wrestling" and submissions as opposed to BJJ. I have heard of submission wrestling but can't seem find any schools. I am looking for more wrestling tailored take downs, grappling, and submissions, but thus far have yet to find a school. Any help pointing me in the right direction is much appreciated.

i think i speak for all when i thank you for your apology regarding the stupid question. bjj= grappling and submissions. if you want takedowns do wrestling as well.
judo or sambo maybe an option for you as well as they are geared towards the takedown while still practicing the ground game.

^^^^ Unfortunately most BJJ academies and gyms don't focus much on the takedown. Find somebody that is a good wrestler and have them show you some things. I found someone that wrestled for years and years, and met up with him at open mat and worked on over/under hooks, head control, arm drags, shots, etc.

Catch wrestling is basically wrestling with submissions, but there are hardly any schools around and they all argue with each other over what is true catch.

Judo focuses a lot on throws as apposed to traditional wrestling type take downs but would seem to cross train well with wrestling. Depending on the school there may be more or less ground work and subs taught.

Sambo has a good mix of takedowns and subs but there aren't many schools around.

Basically it depends on the school. No one art has a monopoly on grappling. Except BJJ is the best :D