Question

beginnerfighter

White Belt
Reaction score
i just started doing both jiujitsu and mma, i train around 3-5 times a week (try to train 5 times more often then not) for about an a hoour a session, i also want to start doing muay thai and boxing, and im in good shape, ive been drinking protein shakes for a few months and i am now pretty skinny, im thinking i want to start gaining weight, but i dont want ot gain fat, i want to start bulking up, gaining mass muscle, (btw im 18 and about 145-150 lbs and 5'10) i was wondering if any of you guys think that im training enough to start drinking gainer shakes and not just gain fat?

i know this is a "noob " question but that is exactly what i am , any help would be awesome, thanks

Eating more food is not going to "bulk you up" without adding resistance training to your program. I'd strongly encourage you to consider doing Starting Strength as a basic lifting program, and add GOMAD to that. Given your activity levels, it's unlikely that you will put on much fat.

Read the stickies at the top of this forum and also the Diet forum - they are packed with a lot of great information as well as links to threads with more than you ever wanted to know about a variety of topics.

yea, i was probably gonna start next this next week with some streght training probably around 2 days a week, before jiu jitsu and then probably once i start doing that ill start drinking grainers, i think thanks for the input tho

Instead of drinking gainers and a bunch of shakes, you might also try looking into eating more good food.

yea, i was probably gonna start next this next week with some streght training probably around 2 days a week, before jiu jitsu and then probably once i start doing that ill start drinking grainers, i think thanks for the input tho