Punching Power

Buheamith

Behemoth
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the Muay Thai side of the game but I do have a question on how to get the most power out of your punches. I know that hooks generate a lot of power, and this power comes from the torque caused from your hips and legs. Powerful kicks are generated the same way. When throwing straight punches do you concentrate more on the torqueing of your body using your body weight, or do you focus on surging your body weight forward in a straight line to generate power. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

If you're talking about leaning your upperbody foward, its not the best idea to do this unless you're fast as Pacquiao. You get power into straights from your feet, legs, and hips just like everyother punch. You can also step in with your punch to get more power.

If you're talking about leaning your upperbody foward, its not the best idea to do this unless you're fast as Pacquiao. You get power into straights from your feet, legs, and hips just like everyother punch. You can also step in with your punch to get more power.

Yup.

TS, leaning forward's a great way to get used to eating uppercuts.

Hips people, all about the twisting of the lower body/hips, thats where 75% of your power comes from.

Leaning forward also opens you up to knees witch i would be more worried about with MT.

if your changing from head to body you dont want to lean forward bend your knees a bit its usualy all done threw your lower body.

the power comes with getting your hips core shoulders all moving properly together. you can have huge strong arms, but it wont help you if the rest of yoru body isnt working together. Also like everything your footwork needs to be right as well, basicly just train train train.

Yeah, leaning usually = bad. Just make sure you twist your whole body into the power punches.