Professional athetes transitioning to MMA.

TheStrangler

Dont be scared homie.
@White
Reaction score
Do you think that professional athletes (Football,basketball, etc.) transitioning have more upside in potential even with minimal or no MMA experience as opposed to someone who has trained strictly one martial art (TKD, BJJ, Judo etc.) and is mediocre athletically. Who would you rather train, I'm talking in the long run here, an excellent athlete with no MMA training whatsoever; or a guy same age, decent athlete, with a brown/black belt in his respective martial art.

Hmm, I could see some athetes making it in MMA.

Not all athletes like getting puched in the face and kicked in the liver.

It takes a certain breed to take a hit and I think a lot of athletes won't pass that test.

I'm a pro boxer, not highly ranked, and if I can sharpen my wrestling, I will make the UFC. People hate how much low ranked UFC figthters make, but try boxing. More brain trauma for less money.

takes a certain personality
wo want to be a fighter

TS i have a question to you. What do you think takes longer, to build muscles or learn Technique? ;)

TS i have a question to you. What do you think takes longer, to build muscles or learn Technique? ;)
Definitely technique, but have muscles doesn't make you athletic. Athleticism is somewhat a "God-given", gift but still takes work. Anyone can learn techniques which is where my question arose. Would you rather someone who already has trained a single martial art who has the technique but isn't a gifted athlete. Or an amazing athlete who has minimal to no training whatsoever

You have to define athlete. Hand speed and fight instinct aren't traditionally measured in athleticism.

I'm a pro boxer, not highly ranked, and if I can sharpen my wrestling, I will make the UFC. People hate how much low ranked UFC figthters make, but try boxing. More brain trauma for less money.
What's your mma record?