1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Problems getting inside

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Sidearm21, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Sidearm21

Sidearm21 White Belt

Hey guys,

I am new to sparring. Me and my friend are sparring using 14 ounce boxing gloves and really just working on technique. Trying to get better. I am about 5'9" pretty stocky build. The problem is the guy I am sparring with is about 6'1" and lanky. He has a log torso as well. Whenever I try to get inside, he just has to lean back and is ready to throw shots back to counter. Whenever he comes foward to throw, I have to lean and back up. And then come forward to land anything. Are there any tips or hints that you all have picked up in your experience that could help? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

2. dtravis92

dtravis92 Orange Belt

You don't have to use the core defense that they are using in this video series (crazy monkey defense) but they have a 5 part series on youtube on how to deal with taller opponents. Regardless of your defense style, the principles will apply to anyone

Part 1: YouTube - Centerline Gym - Dealing with taller opponents 1
    Part 2: YouTube - Centerline Gym - Dealing with taller opponents 2
    Part 3: YouTube - Centerline Gym - Dealing with taller opponents 3
    Part 4: YouTube - Centerline Gym - Dealing with taller opponents 4
    Part 5: YouTube - Centerline Gym - Dealing with Taller Opponents Part 5

3. Sidearm21

Sidearm21 White Belt

Thank you. I will definitely check this out.

4. SAAMAG

SAAMAG San Antonio Applied Martial Arts Group

Stop moving back...let HIM close the distance for you as you block/cover and counter. That's also one of the secrets of getting into clinch range in MT. Learn to attack when the other person attacks basically.