Passing out disappreesh

MCB52

White Belt
Reaction score
so im in a MMA college club. we have an instructor usually just once a week and then the other times we do conditioning and a little bit of rolling. since its the end of the year, we decided to have a little grappling tournament and i got paired up with a dude that is 260 lbs (i'm about 155). im fairly new to jiu jitsu, ive just been training with the club twice a week for like 2 months so i dont really know too much. anyways, i have no idea what happened, all of the sudden i woke up gasping for air with everyone around me. i wasnt refusing to tap or anything, i dont even remember him getting anything on me. i was pretty scared when i woke up though. i dont think it lasted longer than a few seconds.

i won my next little match though. anyone else have similar experiences? i feel kind of embarrassed for passing out in front of everyone.

He is 260 and you are 155? I think you're lucky you did not break anything.

There is no reason you two should be paired up. Just proper side control or knee on the belly from a guy like that would break your ribs.

why did you go with someone over 100 lbs heavier than you? in class maybe but not a Tourny?

Other than that i've only went under once, but i was fighting a Triangle to no avail. Sucks but it lets you know that it only takes a second and its all over.

yea we just picked numbers out of a hat so i had to go against him. he had side control on me and i dont know exactly what he did but i think he just dug his forearm into my throat and leaned on me

disapreesh? Anyways I have fought people over 100lbs lighter than me (or more) and haven't injured any of them. The only one I have come close to injuring was a Judoka who was too competitive to tap the first time I tried to do a belly down armbar (and hence I wasn't sure I truly had the submission). This just sounds weird