Paleo Problems

samb867

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Basically I'm trying to improve my fitness/body composition and so forth as I increase my training. I've been trying the paleo diet recently, though including milk, and have been getting decent results. My weight's decreased, my muscle mass has increased, I'm generally getting leaner and stronger.

Thing is, I'm a student and on a fairly irregular schedule, which makes it tricky to cook for myself all the time and, given how much I'm eating, it's pretty expensive to meet all my needs without the bulk carbs helping me out.

So my question I suppose is twofold: 1.Although I feel better on this diet and am making good progress with training, has anyone found it significantly better than eating 'normally' to a degree that justifies the expense.

2. Would a diet that leans towards being paleo still provide the same benefits, albeit on a reduced scale? This would mean staying on a primarily paleo diet but allowing myself occasional pasta meals and so on, particularly on days when I'm rushed and doing a lot of training.

I do realise I'm going to have to experiment myself to some extent and it's very individual, but I thought I'd see if anyone has tried this and had good results, particularly the second option.

Thanks!

i think you answered you own question when you said you have to find what works for you. i am also a student and while i do eat clean most of the time you do have to make exceptions. i have class from 9-7 two days a week and that makes it hard to get whole food meals in. i prefer whole food meals but sometimes on these long days i'll have a few shakes just to keep me satiated and also because i'm on the go so often. you have to do your best to eat clean and eat to accomplish your goals, but first and foremost you are a student and have to work around the limitations that comes with that.