Not improving. Anyone have any suggestions? Please help

riacef1

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing BJJ, mostly no-gi for almost three years. recently Ive been training twice a day, 3 times a week no-gi and the other days of the week once. Im 21 and a bluebelt and I dont fell Im improving at the rate i should be, especially recently. In no-gi JJ i usually dont really get tapped to much by upper belts but I dont exactly mount much of an offense either. In sport no-gi my open and closed guard are difficult to pass and anytime some gets to my half-guard or to side control i just get to my knees. However with srtikes on the ground I am unable to create these same scrambles and recover a somewhat neutral position because i have to tie up my opponents hands. A solid purple who outweighs me and is stronger really controlled me today as did my instructor who is a legit Blackbelt. I felt like anderson silva, just trying to survive the ground. I did start from my back and got my guard passed off of mediocore triangle attempts. I was thinking about switching to training my takedowns at a world class wrestling club in manhattan and taking privates with John Danaher down at renzo's school if he is available for awhile to get out of my rut. Im actually so pissed about today that i cant even sleep, anyone have any suggestions. I take my training very seriously so I will do anything.

Higher belts are supposed to control you usually, which is why they are a higher belt. Especially the black belt, haha. Anyway, I say take a break for a week and a half. Come back and work on that wrestling, and hey, the privates certainly won't hurt.

Higher belts are supposed to control you usually, which is why they are a higher belt. Especially the black belt, haha. Anyway, I say take a break for a week and a half. Come back and work on that wrestling, and hey, the privates certainly won't hurt.