North-South position

Jack321

White Belt
Reaction score
I know this move is in Judo, but I've seen wrestlers use it in Pride. Since I'm just a novice, can you tell me why and when one would use it? In addition, was it originally a wrestling move that Judo adapted. Thanks

I never knew this originated from Judo. I guess it depends if your in MMA or tournaments when this position can be effective

i was actually in the northsouth position at a class, i didn't know wtf i was supposed to do, so i just took my legs and got him in a headlock with them. while he was trying to release my legs from off his face, i rolled him over and went into side control.

kimura, lots of chokes, stuff of that nature. there are things you can do from there. if you toe holds too if he brings his knees up

There's a really sweet arm lock from there called the elbow hook, sort of like a heel hook but (suprise suprise) its on the arm. mind you the best thing to do from north south is throw knees.

North-south is very useful against people who are good at shrimping to guard. It is the top position that places your body as far away from your opponent's legs as possible. It is also fairly easy to control your opponent's hips with your body weight.

I find it mainly useful when the opponent begins to shrimp to guard from side control. By transitioning to north-south, I can shut down his shrimping and still attack with nearly every upper body submission.

Balto said:
North-south is very useful against people who are good at shrimping to guard. It is the top position that places your body as far away from your opponent's legs as possible. It is also fairly easy to control your opponent's hips with your body weight.

I find it mainly useful when the opponent begins to shrimp to guard from side control. By transitioning to north-south, I can shut down his shrimping and still attack with nearly every upper body submission.

Good post.