Noob questions

vankja

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have been training MMA and a bit of kickboxing for some time now, and my general skill is pretty good, I have almost as good technique as people who fight in the ring (I have never fought in the ring). But this is for me a blessing and a curse.

While my technique is pretty good, I am basically a sissy in sparring as much as I hate to say it. As long as we're both going at like 25% I don't really have problems and can use my technique pretty good.

But as soon as we have to spar harder, I completely freeze. Turning my back, extending my arms instead of blocking,... All those bas things.

It really bugs me because somebody who have never trained before but who is willing to go hard in sparring, will probably be better than me because of this.

Now I have never been an aggressive person so I don't expect to become the best of the gym in sparring. I started training MMA and kickboxing to be able to defend my family and friends when it really mattered and I think I'm at a point that I can download that when my adrenaline starts pumping.

But still at the gym, I have to spar almost only with with people who have already fought in the ring, and as such I almost always go home with a jaw that I can't fully open .

Now for some questions I had which I hoped you guys could help me with:

- When sparring, de you always have to really bite down on your mouth piece? Because I haven't been doing that at all.

- is there a way to help the freezing in sparring what I talked about a bit earlier? I would really like to solve that.

- How do you guys cope with sparring with contact lenses? Mine get punched out almost every training which results in seeing dizzy or having to close one eye to see clearly.

These are some questions I have had for a long time now, and I hope you guys could help me out, every bit helps.