1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Noob Feels Silly in Southpaw Stance

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by jpmoney, Oct 15, 2010.

1. jpmoney

jpmoney White Belt

I've just started messing around with strikes. I have no martial arts background and can't really afford to go to classes to train. I'm not looking to be a pro or anything close to it. I've been looking through books and online videos self teaching myself.

I'm left handed. When I get in a traditional southpaw stance, I feel odd jabbing with my right hand. The only way I can describe it is it's like trying to throw a ball with my right hand: no power, no form, all awkward.

Can anyone suggest some exercises and routines that could help me become more comfortable throwing a punch with my non-dominant hand? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Edison Carasio

Edison Carasio Excellence of execution belt Platinum Member

If you feel comfortably with your power hand forward, then just do that. Bruce Lee did this and it worked great for him, Semmy Schilt does too I think.

Do what feels natural to you.

3. KyleInAction

KyleInAction ***HOPKINS BELT***

From the stickies.

4. Frode Falch

Frode Falch Gold Belt Professional Fighter

Anderson Silva, Rich Franklin and Jerome Le Banner all did great in fighting. Using strong lead fighting stance

5. Murmillo

Murmillo White Belt

I felt awkward in orthodox, so I switched Southpaw. My power is lacking a little in my left but my jab's so much more coordinated, and got a bit of a bite on it. I like to think of it like this, you'll use and land your jab a hell of alot more than your cross.

6. vjvj

vjvj Mr. Pibb + Red Vines = Crazy Delicious

Everyone feels awkward throwing punches with their weak hand at first. It's normal. The way around this is to keep punching with that hand. Thousands of punches later, it will feel much more natural and it will be powerful.