Noob Feels Silly in Southpaw Stance

jpmoney

White Belt
Reaction score
I've just started messing around with strikes. I have no martial arts background and can't really afford to go to classes to train. I'm not looking to be a pro or anything close to it. I've been looking through books and online videos self teaching myself.

I'm left handed. When I get in a traditional southpaw stance, I feel odd jabbing with my right hand. The only way I can describe it is it's like trying to throw a ball with my right hand: no power, no form, all awkward.

Can anyone suggest some exercises and routines that could help me become more comfortable throwing a punch with my non-dominant hand? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you feel comfortably with your power hand forward, then just do that. Bruce Lee did this and it worked great for him, Semmy Schilt does too I think.

Do what feels natural to you.

From the stickies.