Nogi and Shorts Grabbing

J Storm**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to Nogi (about a month) and haven't competed yet, although I hope to do so in the near future. Anyway, I always assumed Nogi meant that you couldn't grab any clothing. However, at my class I find frequently that guys are grabbing onto my shorts when trying to pass my guard. I never say anything, but is this allowed in competition?

I kinda shrug it off b/c most of them are Gi guys who do Nogi as well, but sometimes it gets annoying and I wanna say "I don't think you can do that." I'm not the kind of dude who bitches about anything when rolling, whether u accidently hit me in the face or anything like that, but if it's against the rules, I guess I should tell em to stop cuz you won't be able to use that tactic in Nogi competition. Last class I even had a guy fully grab onto my knee pad/brace (fingers inside) and tried to use that grip to pass over my knee. I'm pretty damn sure that's not allowed, lol.

Last time I checked there is no grabbing shorts in no gi. that is of course the point of no gi, to take the gi off and grapple without grips, IMO

I would say something. I was rolling in my new Ouano a couple weeks ago with a guy that never had rolled nogi and he started yanking on my rashie. I was like, "whoa holmes, watch the new rashie, my GF will kick your ass since she bought it!" LOL

Seriously, I'd just say, "I don't think you'll be able to do that in competition and would probably get penalized for it."

in mma and submission wresting in competition you are not allowed to grab the shorts. but when i am rolling on the mat i do grab the shorts. i do not do it when ever i want but when i am going for a hook sweep and my opponent backs out. to me then it is necessary to grab the shorts. so to answer your question no in competition, but you can on the mat if it necessary and part of your strategy.