No Vegetable Diet

P

Pugilistic

I’ve been reading a lot of random shit on nutrition and health and came across a few people who believe that eating vegetables is not in our best interest. The Vegan, low-carb, and Paleo diet seems talked about a lot but not many seem to talk about this school of thought. I read mainly these two sites. They both say vegetables are not the best thing to eat but they have some differences.

http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/vegetables.shtml

http://www.diagnosisdiet.com

I’m no expert, and I can’t say for certain how much merit their arguments have, but it makes sense. To summarize, vegetables (the leaves, stalk, stem, root, etc) are parts of the plant that are needed for the plant to survive, and so defensive mechanisms are developed to prevent other organisms from feeding on them. Therefore, vegetables are mostly toxic, unlike fruits, which are designed to be eaten so the seeds of the plants can be propagated. Things are tomato, cucumber, and peppers fall into this category as well. Most seeds, grains, and nuts are also toxic to human digestion as well and should be avoided.

Ray Peat claims fruits are an essential part of the diet while the second link I posted suggests that humans can thrive off on a meat-only diet. I really have a hard time grasping the second one because it goes against what I’ve been told my whole life.

My questions on this:

1. I am not sure exactly how long, but humans have domesticated vegetables for a quite a while. Wouldn’t we have evolved during that time to some extend to be able to handle these toxins and make use of the nutrients in vegetables?

2. Domesticated vegetables probably also means we have bred out many of the natural defensive toxins in these plants.

3. Can we get enough micros (and perhaps carbs) by eating mostly, or only, meat?