Need Advice For My First Bjj Competition

kon22

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi...

I've been training BJJ on and off (because of university) for about 8, 9 months now. I've never been competitive with any sports I played, but BJJ changed that for me, in a fun and healthy way.

So anyway, I entering my first tournament in about 2 weeks. It's a 2-day competition. First day is gi, and day-2 is no-gi.

I train primarily no-gi. Mostly I go shirtless with just some comfortable basketball shorts.

So my questions are several. Greatly appreciate responses to any of them.

1) Do I need grappling short (sprawl, tapout stuff?)

2) Do I need a rash guard, if so, can I use rash guards used my surfers (I used to surf). Is there a difference?

3) Where I can find a cheap gi (I used to borrow the loaner at my gym. My gym is really hot. Training gi sucks in the warm weather). Any specifications on them?

3) Any overall advice on what I should expect as per my first competition? (I'm entering the white-belt (gi) and beginner (no-gi) level at lightweight (155)

4) Oh last question. I wake up at 160lbs. 5 pounds is not much to cut. Any advice how how to do it while maintaining my good cardio and strength?

Thank you very much ahead of time

1: no
2: no
3: rednose, gameness, century make sure you gi is not tight they will check it check ibjjf.com for exact info. Expect for you opponent to use a bunch of strength and not be too technical. Just be calm and do you best.
4:5 pounds is nothing just eat light and make sure to hit you cardio hard.

Have fun! Even though I'm green to competition myself, I thinkthat you should just soak up the atmosphere and feeling of competition and enjoy yourself! Tha hould come first.

"Mostly I go shirtless with just some comfortable basketball shorts. "

???