Making the SHHHHH sound when punching.

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Ezrie, Mar 28, 2008.

1. Ezrie

Ezrie Guest

I realize that people make this sound when punching/striking to make sure they are breathing properly (among other reasons) and this thread http://www.sherdog.net/forums/showthread.php?t=274567 seems to bear that out. However, has anyone ever thought that making an audible SHHHHHH sound when punching can actually turn out to be a "tell" when striking. I am not a professional by any means, but I seem to be able to time people's punches in sparring because they often make this shhhhh noise a split second earlier or at about the same time as they initiate their strike. Also, people will often shhhh in a rhythm that can tell you what is coming next. For example a long shhhh that trails off at the end is usually a heavier punch that is not immediately followed up, while a quick shhhh with no variation in tone usually means it will be quickly followed by more quick shhh (i.e. a combination).

Has anyone else ever noticed this?

2. T.J.T

T.J.T Green Belt

If you can read someone off there "shhhhh"'ing i would say your rpetty good. I tend to watch there body moving for the tells i read, thinking about there breathing (unless very obvous) i think is a waste of concentration.

on a side note, i yell or "hi'yeah" sound pretty loud when im going hard in training. i have yet to fight but i wouldnt be worried about making noise's.

3. T.J.T

T.J.T Green Belt

double post.

4. T.J.T

T.J.T Green Belt

double double post.

5. T.J.T

T.J.T Green Belt

double double double post.

6. Ezrie

Ezrie Guest

That is exactly the point: I don't think about it, I just do it I guess.

7. T.J.T

T.J.T Green Belt

Yeah i guess if its something that just came too you, power too you.

i get so focused in sports ive been in the ring once sparing and we had conner people and i shut them right off too.