Making the SHHHHH sound when punching.

E

Ezrie

I realize that people make this sound when punching/striking to make sure they are breathing properly (among other reasons) and this thread http://www.sherdog.net/forums/showthread.php?t=274567 seems to bear that out. However, has anyone ever thought that making an audible SHHHHHH sound when punching can actually turn out to be a "tell" when striking. I am not a professional by any means, but I seem to be able to time people's punches in sparring because they often make this shhhhh noise a split second earlier or at about the same time as they initiate their strike. Also, people will often shhhh in a rhythm that can tell you what is coming next. For example a long shhhh that trails off at the end is usually a heavier punch that is not immediately followed up, while a quick shhhh with no variation in tone usually means it will be quickly followed by more quick shhh (i.e. a combination).

Has anyone else ever noticed this?

If you can read someone off there "shhhhh"'ing i would say your rpetty good. I tend to watch there body moving for the tells i read, thinking about there breathing (unless very obvous) i think is a waste of concentration.

on a side note, i yell or "hi'yeah" sound pretty loud when im going hard in training. i have yet to fight but i wouldnt be worried about making noise's.

double double double post.

Yeah i guess if its something that just came too you, power too you.

i get so focused in sports ive been in the ring once sparing and we had conner people and i shut them right off too.

im sure if i fought in a ring more i could train myself to listen to them better.

i do that... it's breathing out like a kiai!

well if u ask cung le is ush! not sshhhh!! and no it doesnt telegraph anything! if anything...it helps the striker...for multiple reasons

I usually go oowww for punches and aarrrgggghhh for kicks. But that is just me.