Looking to start some sort of grappling, judo maybe?

GeordiePride

White Belt
Reaction score
hi guys was just looking for a bit of advice maybe a few of you were or are in my position. Im being going to the gym now for about 4 month and love MMA with a passion and looking to start some kind of grappling to begin with and i was thinking judo. Was wondering if any guys started off doing judo or are doing judo.

Im a total beginner when it comes to doing martial arts and i havent a clue where to start. Thanks guys.

There is no better combination of the tradition and the practical application of the martial arts than Judo.

Judo is a great place to start. You will learn to fall safely, learn throws, counters to throws, submissions, control and a very aggressive top game. Just don't expect the first few months to be easy.

Judo is not the be-all/end-all of martial arts, but neither is BJJ, sambo, catch or any other grappling style. Judo will give you an awesome base to build upon and will make you physically and mentally tough. Plus you will be well-prepared when you decide to cross train in another style.

Some people don't like the formality of judo. I do, but I'm also former military, so I like the respect required for the art, the dojo, the sensei, the Japanese language, etc. It varies from dojo to dojo, but even at the most laid-back judo dojos, it will seem formal for someone unaccustomed to the traditions.

If you can find a school that has both BJJ and Judo, you'd be completely set. Judo is great and has it's focus. BJJ is great and has it's focus.

I do both.

Judo is not the be-all/end-all of martial arts, but neither is BJJ, sambo, catch or any other grappling style. Judo will give you an awesome base to build upon and will make you physically and mentally tough. Plus you will be well-prepared when you decide to cross train in another style.

good post and qft.

judo is beautiful and you will love it.

I wish i could train more Judo.