Lead hook counter?

delmata

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Lately I realized that I was getting too "rear hip dependent" when it came to defense, and by doing so-too predictable. So I incorporated a lot of slips to the front foot. As I was working on mechanics, I studied some counterpunchers, especially JMM and his fight with Bradley. I noticed that JMM rotates his hips and widens his feeta lot when switching to the front hip.
As I was working on mechanics, I also realized that movement itself is lot faster if my feet leave the ground for a split second while turning the hips.
When incorporating left hook counter, things got a bit more complicated. I would end up too high after throwing the hook. I resolved that by throwing a shorter hook with elbow kept low. Another thing that was bothering me was lead foot rotation. I would rotate my lead foot in with the hook, and end up in a bad position balance-wise, and wasn't able to follow the hook with rear hand punch. So I worked on throwing a hook without foot rotation.
Here is a short video of it, first minute is only sliping, and then slip+counter hook. If you got any suggestions or different opinions, share them!

[YT]F5hav1EqdJ0[/YT]

Also, here is a bag video from the same session. I was concentrated on staying close to the bag and throwing short punches. Not much defense or movement, just punches. My legs were sore from strength training the day before, so I was like "I'm gonna stay just a bit higher with my hips, so that my quads don't hurt so much".... Of course, I stayed too high and leaned forward anyway. But since I recorded it, I'm sharing it, if you have any critiques please share.

[YT]44zk5kLMlyg[/YT]