Knee Pad review... McDavid and Asics GEL.

Monkey Drive

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
This isn't as in depth of a review as I'd like, b/c I haven't rolled with these pads yet because just trying em on in my house and kneeling around, I feel like they won't get the job done, or provide the comfort that I'm looking for. (I've been training MT for a little over a year and a half without any braces or anything, but I just started training MMA as well and rolling/ putting pressure on my knee* is very uncomfortable. I had my ACL reconstructed about 3 years ago, so this is why I need something good to relieve the pressure/pain from being on my knees during class.)

1. 'Asics GEL Reversible knee pad'. My MMA coach recommended knee pads with GEL in em. (This is the only one I found.)
asics_zd700lycrakneepad_lrg.jpg

This pad felt good, the sizing was pretty accurate, although the top of the pad would get loose and create a gap when I would bend my knee back. Otherwise it stayed very snug around the knee and lower calf. The "GEL" in it feels kinda stiff, and when I kneeled down on the ground, it didn't really offer much relief. I still feel like it needs more padding, or the gel should be thicker or softer or something... Other than all that, the quality seems to be really nice, and it feels great, just not offering much in the knee cushioning area.

2. McDavid HexPad (knee/elbow) I've seen these on several websites, and they happen to be in the store I bought the Asics pad in, so I figured I'd try it too.
p3492403p275w.jpg