Judo and MMA

snowolf17

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I was just wondering to those of you that train and compete in MMA, how well does judo translate to the ring/ cage ( for those that have a judo background ) there are the obvious examples of big name athletes who have done well in MMA but I'd say they are def the minority. Just curious, thanks!

I was just wondering to those of you that train and compete in MMA, how well does judo translate to the ring/ cage ( for those that have a judo background ) there are the obvious examples of big name athletes who have done well in MMA but I'd say they are def the minority. Just curious, thanks!

does not translate as well as wrestling or bjj

I do Judo, I'm no expert but I'd certainly feel more confident in MMA if I knew Muay Thai or Kickboxing and Wrestling or BJJ a mix of all of those sounds perfect for MMA to me. Judo will of course be helpful for certain areas, but for optimum effectivity I'd go for the oters I mentioned.

But you know, look at how Ronda is doing, obviously shes trained MMA and everyone is different but her base and background is Judo so it will translate.

Judo makes a fine base for MMA but only IF you have trained it from an early age. The reason is simply because Judo techniques were not designed for MMA and have a huge learning curve, plus a transition to no-gi. Judo was meant as a sport for physical education, and that's really what you get out of it. You'll create some tough athletes with great coordination and reflexes, but they will have spent much of their effort on techniques not application to MMA.

So if you are looking into MMA, the answer really depends on your background. If you are an older striker who is looking for takedown defense and maybe one backup takedown, then wrestling is faster. If you are a grappler who is looking to expand, then Judo can be a great option.