Jason Scully's Brainstorm Video Of The New Innovation - The Worm Guard

jaysculls

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
If you have not heard about it yet I'm sure you will soon. *Mr. Keenan Cornelius has blessed the Jiu Jitsu world with a brand new guard to play around with and not only that he has used it to beat 3...YES I SAID 3 Black Belt World Champions.

This is my inexperienced (with the worm guard) brainstorm video on things I have found and my opinions on the guard as well. *I'm extremely new to this guard but not new at all to Jiu Jitsu, so I put my brainstorming strategies in place and used them to analyze Keenan's new innovations...The Worm Guard!

Quick Table Of Contents

- 0:00 - My Initial Thoughts
- 1:34 - Worm Guard Positional Brainstorm
- 5:18 - Worm Guard Sweeps Brainstorm
- 8:07 - Worm Guard Submissions Brainstorm
- 10:05 - Defending The Worm Guard Brainstorm
- 15:05 - My Final Thoughts

Total Running Time - 17 min 10 sec

Right now I think this can actually turn into a position we see a lot and will actually start changing people's passing styles as well. *Already at the World Championships I saw a lot more players passing with lower level passing and stack passes instead of standing passed. *

They are brining it back old school to work to defeat the new school

http://youtu.be/XDgbxOtVz7w

[YT]XDgbxOtVz7w[/YT]

Hope You Like It,

Jason Scully

Last edited:
I'm watching a BJJ scout video, it looks like it's for Gi grappling only?

Let's see those sambo commie bastards claim they invented this too!

I just watched a 17-min video about something called "the worm guard". I need to get a life…

(The video itself was great though! Now I want to see the same thing for guards I might actually use!)

One thing I didn't add is that there seems there could be a possible kneebar counter to the worm guard position as well. It actually seemed pretty easy to attack.