Is this MMA guy really throwing decent muay thai kicks on the bag?

spacetime

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I have no experience in Muay Thai and I've seen worse but it looks to me that he is not timing the hip thrust optimally. There's something really OFF in his contortion that negates a lot of the power.

What are some of the things to look for here from a muay thai lens`?

Looks good to me
<{UberTS}>No question these Muay Thai kicks can deliver powerful blows.
Isn't he past the rotational point when making contact with the leg? if you look at the still photo, his hip is turning away rather than towards the bag...
<{1-10}>Not knowing all the technical.s I'd say the issue is MMA competitors not training to standards set by this instructor.

<{1-9}>I don't see anything wrong with his kicking... the Judo answer to this kind of opponent is not to stand there like a heavy bag.<{1-1}>

i dislike that guy hes a jack of trades he tried to make khabib vids when he isnt even blue belt grappling level hes the modern day expert village type vid

HIs upper body is leaning back because hes loading too much up and taking a step outwards.

Those are better suited for kicks to the leg

If we talking power, looks pretty powerful to me.
He’s obviously training pure power so it’s hard to say but his kicks look unbelievably slow.
That getting your knee past the target seems like a good tip for power, but I don’t really know so I can’t speak on that. I personally like to snap my kicks way earlier just because I feel like someone could catch it but I’ve never tried his way

Isn't he past the rotational point when making contact with the leg? if you look at the still photo, his hip is turning away rather than towards the bag...
Nah, that's a myth. That's a product of half way teaching.

His kick is very good

Looks fine to me too.
He also never said it was pure Muay Thai style? Just a roundhouse.

THIS is how MMA guys should throw Muay Thai kicks on the bag: