Is it okay if I read a Gracie book while going to Gokor's?

ThaiFighter_83

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
So I started going to Gokor's Hayastan last week and i love it. However, I'm a fresh newbie and a lot of the class is geared towards advanced stuff. But one of my friends who I know there recommended that I read "Brazilian Jiu-jitsu: Theory and Technique" by Renzo and Royler Gracie to catch up on the basics. I got the book, and it seems really good.

But my question is, will it interfere with the technique I'm learning from Gokor? Everyday, I'm drilling the stuff he's teaching in class, but is it okay if I also drill the stuff I learn from the Gracie book? Is it all related?

It's all related, and probably a good thing, from what people say about Gokor's.

One thing I never understood. Is Gokor a BJJ guy as well or what? Does he hold rank? if so who gave it to him? I remember Rickson saying he didn't want to fight Gokor because they were the same style or something like that. :icon_conf

I'm sure I can think of another reason for Rickson not wanting to fight Gokor..

Gokor is a beast. Same with the "pink gi wearing" Judo Jene who trains with Gokor. It's amazing how many BJJ schools are located near the hollywood area.

So I started going to Gokor's Hayastan last week and i love it. However, I'm a fresh newbie and a lot of the class is geared towards advanced stuff. But one of my friends who I know there recommended that I read "Brazilian Jiu-jitsu: Theory and Technique" by Renzo and Royler Gracie to catch up on the basics. I got the book, and it seems really good.

But my question is, will it interfere with the technique I'm learning from Gokor? Everyday, I'm drilling the stuff he's teaching in class, but is it okay if I also drill the stuff I learn from the Gracie book? Is it all related?

great book gives the perfect explaination about how the gracies where taught ww2 judo thats the reason why they where so ground based .