interested in trying new type of grapling

A

alexgncw

i've been wrestling my whole life and have done jitsu for just under 2 years i'm interested in trying something new though (some type of submission based fighting)

what would everyone who knows what they're talking about recommend (i'm considering bjj, sambo or akido but am open to other ideas too) ... bjj not being my first choice since i'm already doing jitsu

so any advice people?

If Sambo is there then take it! I think Judo is an excellent choice as well. Being that you are a natural wrestler I am assuming that you are strong. Learning the throws that Judo has can really come natural with your wrestlering background.

Brazilian Jiu Jit or Sambo.

TJJ is usually so different from BJJ that previous experience in jitsu might actually slow down your progress in BJJ IMO.

cottonzway said:
If Sambo is there then take it! I think Judo is an excellent choice as well. Being that you are a natural wrestler I am assuming that you are strong. Learning the throws that Judo has can really come natural with your wrestlering background.
is there any point in taking something like judo though i mean takedowns are what i'm best at already not saying that i can't improve on them but thats not something that i really need work in i think i wanna improve on finishing the fight and sub escapes more

If you want to improve subs- BJJ

There is usually a big difference between BJJ and jiu jitsu

alexgncw said:
i've been wrestling my whole life and have done jitsu for just under 2 years i'm interested in trying something new though (some type of submission based fighting)

what would everyone who knows what they're talking about recommend (i'm considering bjj, sambo or akido but am open to other ideas too) ... bjj not being my first choice since i'm already doing jitsu

so any advice people?