Insolent newb question

morganfreeman

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I'm sorry if this is a stupid question that could probably be answered with a few more months of training, but I am looking for some advice on how to deal with someone constantly attempting gi chokes from the guard (http://judoinfo.com/images/shime/gyaku_juji_jime.gif). I just started training again a few months ago after several years off, and I have had some problems with opponents who use this move. I remember being shown some very easy ways to deal with it several years ago, but I can't remember any of them right now. I usually just try to break the grip on one arm and go for an ude garuma (keylock/kimura), and most of the time, the person I'm rolling with gives up and moves on to something else, but some of the stronger, more aggressive people I roll with manage to shrug it off and muscle the choke in anyway. It doesn't seem like any of the experienced people use this move too often, only those who've been there slightly longer than I have.

Anyway, any info on counters would be greatly appreciated. I'm only asking because I am returning to a club I used to train at a few years ago for a couple of months and don't want to look completely clueless.

Ude garuma is not really a good counter for that. Since they are already grabbing your gi, it's too hard to break that grip and go for the lock. They are sort of already countering the ude garuma by attempting the choke in the first place.

Try juji-gatame from the bottom instead. This is a very common counter in BJJ. It works very well because instead of countering the lock by grabbing your gi, they are making it easier instead. Grabbing the gi with the hand will not defend the armbar. It actually makes it easier to apply because the arm is nice and stationary.