How to count how long you've been training?

Cardio

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
If you're telling someone how long you've been training, I'm wondering:

How are you supposed to count/calculate how long (weeks, months, years)

For example do you add up days, 3 days a week count as a week, start counting from the day you took your first class (not accurate b/c that would mean sombody who took 4 classes over 1 year has been training for a year!)

-----------------------------
For example... I took about 16 BJJ classes in the past 8 months, no way would I say that I've been training for 8 months. Should I say about two weeks?

Now why would you wonder about these things? Just say when you started and if you've been away for longer periods.

Bring a stopwatch to class and count only those seconds that you are physically on the premises of your school's property (two feet inbounds at all times). Be sure to account for the "leap second" if necessary. You may need a calculator once you get above several thousands of seconds.

Record that as the amount of time you've been training.
Be particularly suspicious of those sly people who look at other things like belt rank, performance in competition, and overall skills during class.

Just say how long you have been doing it, and if you took time off, just say, "on and off" for 5 years.

I have been grappling on and off for 15 years, but I did take 3 years off during my college years

DMcKayBJJ said:
Bring a stopwatch to class and count only those seconds that you are physically on the premises of your school's property (two feet inbounds at all times). Be sure to account for the "leap second" if necessary. You may need a calculator once you get above several thousands of seconds.

Record that as the amount of time you've been training.

This guy's just trying to appear that he's trained longer than he has. You only count the seconds actually training. Drink breaks, etc, should be deducted.